image Mommacast #6- How to get through a “girly” kinda day

Being a female can sometimes bring on the most uncomfortable, uneasy, feeling disgusting and down about yourself kinda days. Girls I think you understand what I am saying…

During these days a girl needs a few things to help her relax and chill.

I am currently in this state of feeling icky right now and I know I cannot change how I feel but I KNOW that I can help myself relax in many ways.

The first thing that I am drawn to when feeling overwhelmed and out of control of my feeling is turning to my friends. Without my friends I might just spend the day crying and then dealing with a headache for the rest of the evening. I NEED my friends. Friendship is so vital. They provide support in many ways and each friend has a way of getting to you and helping you realize that this to shall pass. In my case I know it will pass but hearing it from others reinforces it and instantly helps my state of mind.

The second thing that helps me is shutting off my phone and finding something to watch or read, getting productive around the house, or writing (which is the path I took today). Today I decided write this for you and to also watch Eat, Pray, Love. A total chick flick on finding yourself and learning how to be happy in your own body. My fall back when Im feeling sad or lost. A great quote used in the movie ” The sweetness of doing nothing” She says this in Italian while in her small apartment in Italy. This is a great thought to have and should be used more often by us overproductive ladies who can’t seem to sit down and chill.

The third thing that help me is a warm cup of tea or coffee. I usually go for a cup of tea but today dammit I wanted coffee, so I got out of the house and went to Starbucks and bought myself a giant mocha. Especially in this chilly weather a giant mocha did the trick. It is both comforting and warming as it goes down my throat. No guilt here just peace.

When feeling like you just need a day for yourself, your body and mind is telling you something important. If you try to accomplish something you will most likely fail and then feel even worse. So please just shut down and relax. I have tried to get over these feelings and push through but in the end I do feel worse, like ive wasted a day. I have learned to just use the above tips to get through and I do feel better eventually.

Please share your tips below!!

thanks and xoxo, laurenjean

Leave a Reply

