image Where does it all begin?

Okay, so my story really begins in 2004. I had no idea where I was headed when I one day began to tear apart the kitchen cabinet of the apartment I was living in with boyfriend at the time.

I was a personal trainer for Bally Total Fitness and was only about 1 year into the industry, so I was still learning. I am trying to think back that long ago on the reason why I decided to throw away everything in the pantry while he was away. All I can remember is that was the beginning of me starting to read nutrition labels.

I knew certain things were “bad” such as hydrogenated oils and artificial anything. I had read it somewhere. That was the focus of the great shit toss that night.

I became more aware of what I was eating and what was on the shelves at the store. At this time I was not aware of Trader Joe’s (where i currently work) and had seen it in the shopping center across the way from the gym but never stepped inside.

While working at the gym there was a shop there that sold supplies, workout gear and “energy bars” or “protein bars”. Of course at this stage I started look at the stuff that was in these so called “energy” bars. Detour was the big one then. I remember looking at it and not being able to pronounce most of the ingredients on it. I knew it tasted like a candy bar and immediately stopped wasting my money on one every day because I figured if the ingredients were hard to pronounce they were probably not real.

I just started to examine fast food, which I still ate sometimes (love McDonalds chicken fingers and fries) and my attention became heightened at any restaurant I ate at. I still did not know what most ingredients were but I tried to keep my awareness in tip top shape.

My mind at the time was not as judgmental towards the food industry as it was soon to become in the near future.

I also did not know about organic, GMOs, or artificial anything! Wow I had a lot to learn. All I knew about was there was some “bad” stuff in our food supply.

I was only in the beginning of my health career and was knee deep in learning about personal training and I can now say that even then I was not getting the proper training in how to train people. I was only learning that I really wanted to help people feel better about themselves, I thought I was because I was starting to do really well and my clients were consistent and dedicated BUT i wasn’t seeing much results for them.

I was more of a guilt trip, they felt like they had to come to the gym because of an appointment. I also acted like a therapist to my clients. None knew more about their personal life than I did. If I only knew how to help them properly, like I do now…

During this time of discovering nutrition I was desperately seeking more. I wanted to learn as much as I could so I could better myself, this is something I always wanted to do. I ALWAYS was looking for more. So I attended as many workshops and continuing ed seminars I possibly could to take in as much new info as I could handle.

Even though I was curious about the nutrition aspect I still had not put 2 and 2 together. I had not figured out that what you ate would in fact affect how you responded to workouts. And I don’t even believe that totally anymore but I was about to start trying to figure it out.

It took me 8 more years to figure it out but don’t worry…it won’t take me that long to get the story out to you.

stay posted…

xoxo, laurenjean

Leave a Reply

